António Carvalho sprints to the victory in Setúbal

The attack in Arrábida along with Luís Fernandes (Rádio Popular-Boavista) gave the win to António Carvalho (Efapel), on the seventh stage of the Volta a Portugal edição Especial Jogos Santa Casa.

After several attempts to form a breakaway, a group of eight-man set themselves ahead of the peloton. Meanwhile, Nippo Delko Provence e W52-FC Porto was setting the pace and trying to lower the gap.

Ángel Madrazo even tried to get away from the group and seclude himself in the head of the race, but his attack was quickly neutralized. Luís Gomes was taking part in the breakaway but decided to go back to the peloton to try and get a good place finish and win back the red jersey.

Team W52-FC Porto started to increase the pace in the peloton and ended the breakaway 24 km away from the finish when the riders started the climb to Arrábida. At that time, several riders started to be left behind, not handling this final effort well enough.

António Carvalho (Efapel) came to the head of the race and increased the pace even more and launched an attack, followed by Luís Fernandes (Rádio Popular-Boavista). The duo starts to gain advantage and disappear from under the eyes of the peloton, with Carvalho always doing the job in the front.

Back at the front of the pack, the riders in the front tried to reach the guys ahead, but it was impossible. António Carvalho (Efapel) and Luís Fernandes (Rádio Popular-Boavista) arrived alone at the finish and it was Carvalho to take advantage of the sprint to win in Setúbal, followed by Fernandes. Luís Gomes (Kelly-Simoldes-UDO) arrived in the peloton and sprinted to reach third place.

Amaro Antunes (W52-FC Porto) secured, once again, his Jogos Santa Casa yellow jersey as well as Hugo Nunes (Rádio Popular-Boavista) with his Fidelidade mountain Jersey and Simon Carr with the IPDJ youth Jersey. Luís Gomes got his Cofidis points jersey back, after losing yesterday by one point to Daniel McLay.

There were no changes to the main candidates for the overall classification, with Frederico Figueiredo (Atum General-Tavira-Maria Nova Hotel) holding on to the second place, at 13 seconds, and Gustavo César Veloso (W52-FC Porto) in third, at 1m13s.

The Volta a Portugal Edição Especial Jogos Santa Casa ends tomorrow with a 17.7 km time trial in Lisbon, which will define this years’ winner.